PR is Not Always Glamorous!

On Facebook I posted an article from PR Daily about how Public Relations is a one of the most stressful jobs there is. I believe this article because right now I am stressed just with school. And the scary part is: we are not even in the “real world” yet. I am not second guessing my career choice or changing my mind, but I will say that it is a little intimidating after reading this article. The article even says that one study named it the seventh most stressful job.  Out of all of the possible career choices, doctor, lawyer, police, etc. public relations is seventh. Wow. It amazes me and frightens me at the same time.

Fortunately, I work well under pressure. I am very good at not procrastinating, like many other college students, but I will not have control over everything when I start my career. Part of public relations is reacting. A lot of the work public relations professionals do is repairing damages and reconstructing plans in the aftermath of an unfortunate event. Public relations professionals do just clean up messes all the time, but that is the kind of stuff that you need to prepare yourself for. Everyone loves being surprised with good new, but no one wants to suddenly find out bad news and then have to go into crisis mode to fix whatever the damages were done.

That is the “real world,” of public relations, but what about the students that aspire to be public relations professionals? I know that I am stressed and I know that many students would agree with me. We have your typical homework; papers and projects, but we also have to worry about finding internships or jobs, keeping up with social media, networking and much more. In the end, it will all be great experience for us, but right now we are on overload and reading an article like this is not very optimistic. Although, personally, I want to know the truth. If this is my chosen career path, I want to have an idea of what I am getting myself into. I do not want to find out that public relations is not for me after I spend four years in college studying for it. If it is a stressful job, I need to know so this article was a reality check for me. Like I said, I am not considering changing my major or career path, but this article gave me and idea of what to expect from the field.

There are many of great things about the field so don’t get me wrong. I know that it will be overwhelming at times, but I believe that it can also be very rewarding. Public relations professionals put a lot of time and effort into their projects and tasks and seeing the results is a tremendously rewarding thing.

Source: 6 Reason PR is so Stressful

Leave a Reply

